th’snowshoe

thoughts from New England

Marination March 17, 2006

Filed under: cooking — tim @ 1:32 pm

Harpoon's Seasonal AleAh, St. Patrick’s Day. The time for friends to come together, drink some Irish beer, and enjoy a nice meal of Tequila Lime London Broil Steak. Oops, Cinco De Mayo came a little early here at the ranch, but no matter. We had an abundance of limes left over from our last excursion to BJ’s, so a tequila lime marinade was in order. First I tried to google search a recipe, and found a great one brought to me by Hormel. It basically read like this:

1 c. lime juice

1 packet of Hormel’s Tequila Lime Marinade Powder

Mix, and pour over steak. Grill and enjoy!

LAME!

So I asked my lovely wife for some assistance, because I was basically going to dump tequila, lime juice and kosher salt (the only kind for anything) into a bowl and then pour it over the steak. She gave me this recipe and I basically followed it, but with a few modifications. Here’s my version:

  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup agave nectar
  • 3 minced chipotles, plus a couple of spoonfuls of the adobado sauce
  • 1/4 cup Dijon mustard
  • 2/3 cup lime juice
  • 1/4 cup tequila
  • 4 large cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 6 all spice berries, ground
  • 1 1/14 tsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp dried cilantro

I whisked this all up, dumped it over the steak in a Ziploc bag, and put it in the fridge. We’ll see how it turns out and if my efforts were worth it.

 

6 Responses to “Marination”

  1. Miketastic Says:

    Ah, sweet agave nectar. Isn’t it convenient how you just have that always lying around? How is the agave/cactus harvest going in Vermont this year?

  2. tim Says:

    this year’s winter agave crop was just wonderful! The cacti were in full bloom during February, poking their little spikey blossoms out from underneath the permafrost. I’m really looking forward to next week’s pineapple harvest; we already picked one and we will be hopefully grilling it tonight. I can’t wait!

  3. tim Says:

    (in reality, we had it on hand because a) it’s a lower glycemic index than honey; b) I didn’t have 2/3 c honey; c) we buy stuff like this from the health food store d) we are out of maple syrup)

    These next two weeks are sugar season, so I’m holding off on buying more for about a week or so. More on sugaring later.

  4. Lu Says:

    …That sounds amazing.

  5. the baker's wife Says:

    Oh my, Mike’s comment about the agave harvest actually brought tears to my eyes. It took everything I had to stifle a laugh, and I wasn’t even successful. Yes, I was actually LOL’ing–a little laugh did escape but a fake cough covered it up. Not that my job isn’t laugh-out-loud funny, but I don’t need to draw attn to the fact that I just might be slacking…

  6. Miketastic Says:

    Giving credence to the saying that there’s a first time for everything, I will now quote George W. Bush for the first time in my life: “Mission Accomplished.” Just imagine me sitting here in my cubicle proudly, with a banner hanging behind me bearing those words. I got an LOL out of the baker’s wife – huzzah!


Leave a Reply

