th’snowshoe

thoughts from New England

Spring Cleaning! April 10, 2006

Filed under: cleaning house,food — tim @ 9:32 am

This weekend was spent spring cleaning! That may sound boring, but there’s something great about having a weekend with beautiful weather where you can open the windows after a long (not so) cold winter and air the house out while you get rid of the piles of junk you’ve been stockpiling like a rat for the last 6 months. The rugs are vaccumed, the place re-organized and improvements are done. I know I enjoy the spring and summer so much more when you’ve been through the winter.

It’s sugar season, and if you don’t know what that means, read this. All around the area the sugar houses are cranking out the smoke and boiling the sap down in order to get that precious liquid sweet gold. I have not tasted this season’s batch yet, but I anticipate doing so real soon. There’s nothing like real maple syrup on some hot pancakes. Mmmmm!

 

9 Responses to “Spring Cleaning!”

  1. Miketastic Says:

    Speaking of maple syrup, this girl on my softball team is on some crazy liquid detox diet for 10 days where all she’s ingesting is a mixture of water, lemon juice, maple syrup, and cayenne pepper. I don’t know how this is meant to clean out one’s system or provide sustenance, but when questioned, the girl said that the maple syrup would “provide all the nutrients” she’d need. Apparently, maple syrup has some magical qualities of which I was not aware.

  2. tim Says:

    Yes, I hear that a pint o’maple, when ingested bubblin’ hot, will give you the strength of twenty men! Maple syrup also gives your coat a nice shine.

  3. Lu Says:

    …pancakes…

    Do you have a good recipe so I can make them for dinner this week? I’ve never made them before. And I still have maple syrup from your wedding!

  4. the baker's wife Says:

    Lu, you should’ve known he’d invoke Alton Brown on that one!

  5. Miketastic Says:

    Tim’s one dream in life is to give Alton Brown a reach-around while he grills up a steak.

  6. Lu Says:

    That sounds awesome.

    Alton Brown =

  7. Lu Says:

    Curses. My clever internet hearts aren’t working. Suffice it to say, Alton Brown is so my boyfriend.


Leave a comment