th’snowshoe

thoughts from New England

Zucchini of Fire August 5, 2006

Filed under: BBQ & Grilling,cooking,garden,grilling — tim @ 2:45 am

Having about eight million zucchinis on hand at any given time (yes, I brought this upon myself by planting 3 zucchini plants), I am constantly trying to come up with new and exciting recipes to throw them into. Luckily, zucchinis are a versitile vegetable that can be made up a zillion ways. Baked, fried, raw, in baked goods, stir-fried, you name it.

Friday night I made a garden grill stirfry, and it went a little like this:

ZUCCHINI OF FIRE

2 good sized zucchini, sliced into 1/4″ slices

12 cherry tomatoes, whole

some basil leaves

one fresh jalapeno, seeded and sliced into strips

one fresh cherry bomb pepper, seeded and sliced into strips

salt

pepper

garlic powder

AB’s Chili powder

olive oil

Tabasco

Throw all the vegetables in a bowl, coat with olive oil & Tabasco, toss, and then add salt, pepper, AB’s chili powder, and the garlic powder. Hooooo-weeeee that’s hot! Toss to coat evenly. Throw mixture into a hot grill wok over high heat, stir often until zucchini are done to your liking.

The greatest thing about this recipe was that all of the fresh ingredients were home-grown! I was pretty proud of myself for that.

 

2 Responses to “Zucchini of Fire”

  1. the baker's wife Says:

    It was scrumptious! Before cooking, he held out a tiny sliver of pepper for me to taste. I love hot stuff, but I barely touched it with my tongue and it was burning for about an hour. Fortunately for me, those peppers became edible after a stint on the grill. Hooray for homegrown!

  2. Lu Says:

    That sounds really good.


Leave a Reply

