th’snowshoe

thoughts from New England

Fire Island Chicken Salad August 25, 2006

Filed under: eat & drink,Recipes — tim @ 12:19 pm

I came up with this recipe just now, and through the Magic of the Internet, you can also delight in this awesomeness!

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of chicken
  • 1/2 c mayo (I used Lite Mayo)
  • 1/4 c cashews
  • 1/4 c coconut shreds
  • 1/8 c dried berries (I used a mix of cran & blueberries)
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 habanero pepper, diced extra fine
  • salt & pepper

Mix chicken with mayo, mash together and then add ingredients in the order listed. Salt & pepper to taste! It’s delicious right away, but I suspect it will be even better in 6-12 hours when the flavors have had time to meld. The beauty of chicken salad (or turkey salad) is that you can really use anything you want to the recipe and 9 times out of 10, it works. I considered using apples or celery, but the cashews provide some crunch. I think I’d also add one stalk of celery, diced fine as well. Careful with the habeneros — and wash your hands thoroughly! (Better yet, use gloves.) The habanero is very subtle in this, as there’s some heat in the back but the coconut and dried fruit bring out the sweetness of the habanero.

Enjoy!

 

2 Responses to “Fire Island Chicken Salad”

  1. the baker's wife Says:

    Yum-O! (And I only say this because it’s your birthday, Rachael Ray.) I hope there’s still some left when I get home!

  2. Lu Says:

    Ooh yum. I made a chicken salad the other day that was: chicken, mayo, apples, almonds and raisins. Simple and delicious. I’ll try this one next!


Leave a Reply

