th’snowshoe

thoughts from New England

Harvest Time September 29, 2006

Filed under: eat & drink,flickr,food,garden,gardening — tim @ 4:57 pm

Pumpkins have turned

Originally uploaded by bakebakebake.

Well, the season’s just about over for my garden. Within the next few weeks I’ll be reaping the last of the hot peppers and drying them out, bringing in the planters and thinking about next year…The plan after the jump.

(PS The squash I bought at a farmer’s market and was letting it ripen a bit more)

Tomatoes: Definitely will do them again next year, but probably less grape tomatoes with Roma instead. Now that I know about the Horned Tomato Worm, I’m much better prepared for next year. Also, I’ll probably move them down the wall so they’re in the sun more.

Hot peppers: Definitely again, but maybe not as much. That will depend on what I have left over in my pantry in the spring when I go to plant again. I still have to harvest a lot, hopefully that will happen before the frost. I ended up getting 2 harvests of jalapenos and another good crop of cherry bombs. Habaneros are steady and keep producing more. The anaheims were a good choice, as were the Thai hots and Hot Portugals. I’m still trying to figure out what to do with all the cayennes. Anyone want some dried peppers? If I had a smoker, I could smoke a lot of these for some good flavor…

Zucchini/Pumpkins: The zukes were not as prolifiic as I would have liked. I was expecting to be drowining in them, but we got probably 20 total. Next year I will be clearing them back earlier in order to encourage new growth as opposed to the dying leaves. I got 10 pumpkins and the jury is still out on them as I haven’t cut any up yet. We’ll see what kind of pumpkin they turn out to be.

Watermelon/Cantaloupe: I got 2 cantalopes and 1 decent watermelon. They both had too much shade and it just didn’t get hot enough for both of them to develop full-sized, sweet fruit, let alone more fruit. Probably won’t do them next year, but maybe down the road when I have more space.

Sweet Potatoes: A late entry into the garden and only planted on a whim, this was doing great until the kids who mow the lawn whacked this down with a weedwacker yesteday. Stupid kids. I guess I’ll leave it in there over the winter and see if it sprouts again in the spring. Who knows!

Herbs: Mint is awesome, what can I make with all this mint? I guess I’ll be drying it. Basil will come inside, as will the box of chives & parsley. The dill and cilantro…not so good, they needed more water than I knew. Those are better planted in an actual herb garden, something I’m looking forward to having in the future.

I also planted an onion a bit ago and hey — I think I planted another onion way back before I even planted the garden! I wonder….

Next year’s plan is for the same potted plants, although I’ll change up the tomatoes and take better care of them next year. I also want to add some squash to the lineup, such as butternut and acorn. They will keep longer over the winter and I think I’ll have better luck with them. Also, cucumbers, eggplants and yellow squash might see our garden.

All in all, I’ve learned an awful lot from gardening this summer. It’s a great hobby, gets you outside and hey, when you eat it, it’s really a proud thing to have accomplished.

Click on the pic to see the set of garden photos from April through now!

zukes revenge

 

6 Responses to “Harvest Time”

  1. the baker's wife Says:

    You did a great job! I enjoyed the fruits (and vegetables) of your labor (and will continue to do so, since we have enough peppers for quite some time!) The zukes came fast and furious for a couple of weeks–wonder if there is a better way to space out the yield.

  2. tim Says:

    Stagger when I plant them, really, with 2-3 beds at once, planted about a month apart. I think it was a bad year regionally because everyone had the same problem. We should have been having non-stop zukes the whole time!

  3. Hi tim! Awesome post! Those pumpkins look great! I’ve been to every state up there except Vermont! I’ll have to make it out there soon – lots of good stuff happening out there. Glad to have found your blog. Keep it up and happy harvesting!

    u.e.

  4. tim Says:

    Thanks, u.e.! This season, although it had some setbacks, it was very successful. Love your blog and I’ve bookmarked it for future reference to a fellow foodie!

  5. I’ve always wanted to be a farmer! And, I’ve always wanted to visit Vermont! I’ve been to all the states up there except yours…. *sigh* – One day. Can’t wait to see what the next harvest brings!

    u.e.

  6. tim Says:

    The only reason I’m not farming is because I don’t have a clue how to do it yet. I’d love to, believe me. Luckily our area is very supportive of local farms and we’re able to sustain quite a few. Someday!


Leave a Reply

