th’snowshoe

thoughts from New England

I need to take this blog more seriouser! July 13, 2007

Filed under: garden,gardening,local,vermont — tim @ 5:27 am

Yeah, I really do. Here’s some good updates:

Garden: the garden so far has a grade of a B. I’m not totally thrilled like I was last year, so maybe the novelty has worn off, but I’m also kind of disappointed by the outputs. The tomatoes are doing well except the Japanese Beetles, the bane of my existence, are loving to eat the leaves. The weaker plants have stopped being sickly looking and, while smaller, are actually producing tomatoes before the bigger plants. The peppers are doing okay, but not awesome. Something is eating the leaves on my purple bell peppers, which I cannot find. I’ve been spraying them with organic soap stuff, and it’s working on everything else but those are still getting chewed up a bit. The mystery squash turned out to be yellow squash, which I’m glad of because they’re easier to use and grow than acorn or butternut. I have about 3 of them so far with more to come.

The cucumbers suck and are just not growing. Well, maybe one or two are. The zucchini are so-so, we’ll see how they come out. Pumpkins are growing so they’ll do well. I don’t think I gave the radishes enough room because I had no idea that they would all actually sprout, so I’ve been thinning them out little by little.

The herbs are doing really well — we have so much basil that looks so healthy! However, this week I’ve been finding a few leaves that look like they’ve been eaten, so now I have another mystery to solve. Crap. Cilantro in its own planter is doing really well, but sharing w/parsley is not helping it.

The mint was great — we made mojitos on Tuesday night and watched the All-Star game and there’s plenty of mint left. The lettuce has also been good for one batch of salad and we’ll be ready for another batch tomorrow today — that makes us a big salad about once a week, which is a really nice perk. Once I have land, I will definitely be planting a good-sized lettuce patch.

We went to a Wilco concert at the Shelburne Museum in Vermont the other weekend and it was Lidia’s first concert. The sunset behind the band made for an absolutely beautiful backdrop for a gorgeous show — I’ve seen them eight times now and they never disappoint. Ever. They were fun, loose, tight, together, and above all, they put on a great family-friendly show. There were soooooo many kids at the concert and the setting was perfect.

I bought the book Buy Buy Baby this past week and I need to start getting into it ASAP. Oddly enough, I had to buy it, but I think that makes sense as marketing to the under 3 set is something that really bothers me. I am a very bad consumer and I need to stop consuming, so I am going to try and break this because what good is it, really? And what kind of example am I setting?

I think that there’s something to be said about getting back to the land; but not necessarily like that. I think that we can use a good combination of neo-Luddite attitudes with some awesome technology thrown in. I do enjoy modern conveniences, but I’m seriously thinking about lobbying to get rid of TV. What’s on that’s so important that the internet or DVDs can’t provide? I’ll do it as soon as the Red Sox season is over, I swear. 🙂

We’re trying to save for a house, but consumption isn’t really helping, you know? I need to figure out a way to get our electric bill down, it’s insane. I need to get on a budget, for real.

Having a kid who is suddenly soaking up everything you do and say really makes you stop and think about what you do and say. What kind of person are you molding? How will they develop and grow, and how much of that is a result of what you’re impressing on them? All things that I need to remind myself and think about.

In the meantime, make a panflute out of tampons.

 

6 Responses to “I need to take this blog more seriouser!”

  1. Zonnie Says:

    I agree, down with those looms!! I’m going through a period right now where every gadget I own is failing/crashing in one way or the other. Ahhhhh!

    Tim, you’ve become a responsible parent! Make it stop, make it stop!!! Just kidding. You da man.

    P.S. I really hope you got that panflute video off of another list — I don’t want to think you are searching “tampax ode joy flute” on YouTube.

  2. tim Says:

    I did get the panflute video from another list. I haven’t tried searching for “tampax ode joy flute” on youtube, but now I will.

    I say, next time my motor-carriage breaks down I shall finally give up on this “Industrial-Revolution” once and for all!

  3. You are growing so much! That’s awesome? Is it a ton of work?

  4. tim Says:

    Yes and no. At first, it was a few afternoons/mornings spent setting things up, planting, going to home depot for more soil, planters, etc. Once everything’s in the ground, there’s very little work to do aside from watering once a day if there’s been no rain as well as spraying for bugs. It takes up maybe 30 min total everyday. I’ve also been lucky because we’ve been getting rain for the last week and a half, but always in short bursts so it’s not dismal. Well, we had some wicked stormy days last week, but other than that it’s been just wet enough where I don’t have to water.

    At first I read “you are growing so much!” like it would be said to a 6 year old who hadn’t seen his auntie in a year or something, and then I got out of little-kid-speech mode and remembered I was talking about a garden. 🙂 If only I could have a little farm, but those are bigger money pits than a house from 1790.

  5. Zonnie Says:

    Timothy Hilding you are growing like a weed! Pretty soon you’ll be 5 feet tall and a basketball player!

  6. Zonnie Says:

    Oops, or Hildig…. I can’t remember. My Dutch is so rusty. Sry.


Leave a Reply

